1800-2234-5367 contact@worldwide.co.uk
  • States & The Federal Republic

Nigeria is a Federal Republic comprising 36 states and the Federal Capital territory, Abuja. Until 1991, the city of Lagos was the Capital of Nigeria. As a result of congestion due to its dual capacity as both the economic and political capital of Nigeria as well as the prevalence of waters (Lagoons, the Atlantic ocean) further re-expansion and development became impossible.

Justice Aguda Panel was therefore constituted by Murtala Obasanjo Administration in 1975 to locate a suitable site central to all sections of the country for a new Capital territory. This in a nutshell explains how the new Federal Capital Territory of Abuja came into being and Measuring 800/kilometer square, the Federal Capital Territory is a fusion of huge expanse of land from Kogi, Nasarawa, Plateau and Niger States and it is at the epicenter of Nigeria.

Click below for

information about each state:

Click below for information about each state:

1. Abuja

2. Anambra

3. Akwa Ibom

4. Adamawa

5. Abia

6. Bauchi

7. Bayelsa

8. Benue

9. Borno

10. Cross River

11. Delta

12. Enugu

13. Ebonyi

14. Edo

15. Ekiti

15. Gombe

16. Imo

17. Jigawa

18. Kaduna

19. Kano

20. Katsina

21. Kebbi

22. Kogi

23. Kwara

24. Lagos

25. Nasarawa

26. Niger

27. Ogun

28. Ondo

29. Osun

30. Oyo

31. Plateau

32. Rivers

33. Sokoto

34. Taraba

35. Yobe

36. Zamfara

The federal government structure is divided into 3 main arms:




1 Executive branch

2 Legislative branch

3 Judicial Branch

4 Political parties and elections

5 Legal system

6 Administrative divisions

7 Military

8 Foreign relations

9 See also

10 Reference